Pressing on

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Verse of the Week:

Philippians 4:13-14, “Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Jesus Christ.”

Lessons Learned:

One year ago this past April, I made a goal list for my life.  It included things like “Write a novel,” and “get Youth of Christ on DVD,” things that would take a while to do.

This past Friday, Jesus allowed me to finish all eight items on my to-do list.  It took over a year to get everything done, and I remember the tedious process of slowly being able to cross items out on the list.

Guess what I did after the list was successfully completed?

I immediately created a new one.

Once I realized that I had accomplished some pretty big goals without taking a minute to celebrate before making new ones, I felt like I was doing something wrong.  I asked my husband if he’s ever seen me celebrate an accomplishment, and the honest truth was that no, I haven’t.  I didn’t.  And I don’t.

But why is this?  Why is it that when God allows me to reach a milestone, all I can think about is reaching the next one?

This morning during my daily devotion, I read Paul’s words in Philippians 4:13-14, “Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Jesus Christ.”

I finally understand why I’ve never celebrated my accomplishments.  It’s because there’s so much left to do.  How do I celebrate a job half finished?

Since I was the age of 14, Jesus has been very clear about what He wants me to do for Him.  He told me He wants me to make Christian entertainment for young adults, and He told me He wants me to speak to young girls and inspire them to live for Christ the way He inspired me to live for Him through Benny Hinn when I was a young girl.

As of right now, yeah, I accomplished the things on my 2011 goal list, but there’s still this unwritten goal list, this massive set of heavenly focused tasks, waiting to be accomplished.

And until they are, I’m going to keep pressing onward, forgetting what is behind me, and moving towards accomplishing what Jesus wants me to do.

This is what all of us Christians need to do for the Lord.  Yes, it’s wonderful when we are able to accomplish a goal we’ve worked towards for such a long time.  But we must not let that stop us.  Take a moment to celebrate what God allowed you to do, but then press on, because your work isn’t finished yet.

Our work isn’t finished until every single person on this earth has heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

XOXO,

Stephanie

Company Update:

That’s right folks, the novel and DVD are completed!  It’s going to take some time to get them up for sale online, but once it’s ready, I’ll let you know!

GOD BLESS YOU and your ministry in the Lord!!

Leave a Reply

