Where I am weak, there He is strong.

Posted: June 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

Verse of the week:

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

 Lessons Learned:

Recently, I ordered two books on cinematography from Amazon.com.  Both were only about 15 bucks, and boasted about teaching filmmakers the “essential camera shots every movie maker should know.”

After having produced three feature films, you may be wondering why on earth I would spend my money learning how to do camera shots.  Well the truth is that while God made me a writer, producer, and director, the one thing God did not make me is a great cinematographer.  In fact, I’m just about one of the worst camera operators that I know, and I went to film school!

This lack of ability behind the camera has plagued me since high school.  By the grace of God I was always able to create a great story, but the camera work showing that story was always terrible.  I never won any competitions because of my camera shots, and that followed me well into film school.

Yesterday, I encountered a fellow Jesus freak who had the opportunity to watch my latest film, “Youth of Christ,” the other day, and the first thing she said was that the cinematography was amazing.  She loved how crisp it was, how colorful it was, and how well it was lit.

And while she was saying this, I couldn’t help but wonder how someone could possibly compliment a movie I made on its cinematography.

And then I read that Bible verse this morning, and I got my answer.

For “Youth of Christ,” we hired a professional director of photography who was incredible at bringing what I saw in my head to life.  All I had to do was tell him what shot I wanted, and he understood how to translate that into an actual camera setup. 

In my weakness, God provided me with someone who could create a beautiful picture on screen, and through that, His glory was shone.

I have always been bad at camera, and because of that, I was able to genuinely tell this woman that the reason why the cinematography looked so great is because Jesus Himself made it happen.   Jesus provided me with an amazing cinematographer who lives in South Florida and worked for the amount I could afford. 

 Where I am weak, Jesus is strong.

What are you weak at?  What are the abilities that you wish you had?  What are the qualities that your friends and family members possess, but seem to elude you?

Whatever they are, whatever they may be, this is where Jesus will show His miraculous power in your life.  This is where He will give you your testimony to glorify His name.

Embrace your weakness, however bad it may be.  Because at the end of the day, it only makes us stronger.

 Company Update:

We have got some BIG screenings planned for “Youth of Christ” this summer.  Stay tuned for when we will be revealing our new company website, our new Facebook page, and our screening locations!!  Praise the Lord!!!

Leave a Reply

