When the Doubt Creeps in…

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

Verse of the week:

Philippians 4:13 “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”

Lessons Learned:

This past weekend, I got to see “Soul Surfer.” It’s a phenomenal movie, incredibly inspirational and motivating, AND an extremely well made faith based film! I loved it so much and left the theater pumped up to do big things for Jesus!

But then all of a sudden it hit me: Soul Surfer was so awesome, and there was no way my movie could ever compare to it. Yes, as ridiculous as it sounds, I actually compared my faith based film to someone else’s faith based film, and I allowed my insecurity to take over my confidence in Youth of Christ.

I went from feeling incredibly inspired to feeling incredibly defeated. I thought there was no way anyone would ever want to pick up Youth of Christ. There was no way we would ever achieve a theatrical release or inspire the masses.

I allowed my insecurity to defeat me.

The next morning, I woke up with absolutely no desire to work on Youth of Christ. The past few weeks I’ve been working on the movie every single day, but after watching Soul Surfer, I felt like there was no point. I felt like no matter what I ever did, Youth of Christ would never be successful, because it just wasn’t good enough.

Being on the other side of these emotions now, it’s tough to write this down. But it’s what I felt. And I know it’s what so many people feel over and over again in their lives.

As human beings, it’s not like we do it on purpose. We all want to be successful and confident and “spectacular” in everything we set our minds to.

But sometimes- ugly times- the doubt creeps in, and we allow that doubt to completely overwhelm anything we would have done to achieve our dreams. And because of that, we stunt ourselves from being able to move forward, and our feelings of inadequacy become a self fulfilling prophecy.

But this isn’t what God wants. This isn’t what God has for us!

That morning, when I didn’t feel like doing anything for Youth of Christ, I heard God whisper to me, “Go to Potential Church today.” So I went to Potential church that morning. And you know what the first thing out of the Pastor’s mouth was? “Insecurity is the result of comparing ourselves to someone else.”

 Repeat: Insecurity is what happens when you compare who you are, what you’re doing, and how you’re doing it, to somebody else.

The enemy uses insecurity to stop us from achieving what God has in store for us. God used the Pastor to teach me that I can’t go by my feelings and emotions, but I must go by what God feels about me, and what God sees in me.

As I took notes on the service, I felt the Holy Spirit lead me to write these words:

“This is what God gave you to do. This is what He saw in you when He created you, and saved you, and set you apart from all those people you never fit in with. This is your mission; this is your fight, your challenge. Jesus gave you this because He knew you could handle it. He knew you could achieve it. He knew you would never quit. Don’t see yourself through your eyes, see yourself through God’s eyes, the way He’s seen you every since He first brought you into existence.”

Take these words with you on your journey. When the insecurity creeps in, when you feel like you’re not enough and it’s not good enough and it’ll never be good enough, take a step back from yourself and remember- GOD BELIEVES IN YOU. God believes you are capable of everything you set your mind to, because through Him YOU ARE ENOUGH, and He’ll never leave you or forsake you.

A-men.

Company Update:

PRAISE JESUS, we hosted our first two screenings of Youth of Christ in the month of March, and the screenings were phenomenal!! Now, we’re spending the month of May booking as many screenings as possible so we can continue sharing the “live big for Jesus Christ” message to teenagers and young adults all across America!

If you’d like to book a screening, email screenings@CEEChrist.com.

Also coming soon, Youth of Christ- The Novel. I’ll give you an update when it’s available, praise the Lord!

Comments
  1. Danielle Nunley says:

    So true! Have you ever heard of the International House of Prayer in Kansas City? I went to the one thing conference there in December where there were about 30,000 people (most of them high school and college students.) They also have a film program at their school. You could probably talk to a few people there about Youth of Christ. My cousin works there and I have a few friends who go to their bible school. It could be a good way to advertise Youth of Christ. Especially since they have houses of prayer all over the world. I have one not too far from my house here in Detroit. Alot of high school and college students are involved. It is so great. The Lord is really doing a work in the youth. I see it all over. We are surely seeing the beginning of the fulfillment of prophecy-Malachi 4:5-6 “See, I will send you the prophet Elijah before that great and dreadful day of the Lord comes. 6 He will turn the hearts of the fathers to the children, and the hearts of the children to the fathers….” Here is their website-www.ihop.org and here is the website to the house of prayer in my city as well http://www.ihopedetroit.org/ And also I just want to say you are a huge inspiration to me! I got saved about 2 years ago and since the moment I came to Christ he’s been putting it on my heart to make films for his glory and to eventually start a production company and christian film school. One day I was working on a screenplay I’m writing and I was so discouraged. The Lord led me to do a google search on Christian filmmakers and one of your interviews just popped up! I was so encouraged that the Lord is truly raising up people like me who have a heart to see his name be exalted in media. I felt like Elijah when he was in the caves and he felt like the only one left, the Lord spoke to him and said 1 Kings 19:18, “Yet I reserve seven thousand in Israel-all whose knees have not bowed down to Baal and all whose mouths have not kissed him.” I just want to say thank you for being obedient to the Lord! Remember that his word will never return void! No matter what your movies will touch the hearts of many somehow!!! And by the way-I really know the effects that a Christian film can have on a person…I got saved watching the Passion of the Christ! Lol. Blessings!!!!

Leave a Reply

