Hello world!!

Posted: January 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

Hi everyone! My name is Stephanie Rodnez, and this is my very first blog, how exciting!! I’m 23 years old, have lived in South Florida my entire life, and my best friend in this whole world is Jesus Christ.

For those of you who are wondering about the name, Godlywood is a term that appeared a few years ago to describe the Christian movie making industry that has really gained momentum here in America. It’s the Godly form of Hollywood, thus the name “Godlywood.”

When I was 16 years old, God told me that He wanted me to make films for His name, films specifically for young adult Christians. At first, I refused. At the time I was more interested in becoming a journalist and the next Steven King. But as God is, He continued to work on me until my heart completely fell in love with the filmmaking process, and now I can’t imagine ever doing anything else.

So when I was 18 I went to the University of Miami film program, made two films, started a company, and now as I’m about to receive my MBA from Nova Southeastern here in South Florida, God has given me the vision for my company’s first theatrically released “Godlywood” movie, hence, me calling myself “Godlywood Girl.”

I’ve had the amazing privilege and blessing of seeing Godlywood front runners Sherwood Films and Tyler Perry Studios rise, make amazing films, and continue to bless the church of Christ with their films. I’m hoping to join them as a Godlywood film producer with my company’s next movie, entitled “Youth of Christ.”

God gave me the idea for the script September, 2009, when I looked up towards heaven and asked God to give me an idea for a feature length movie I could make this April on a really tiny budget. Literally just a few seconds later, he hit me with the idea for the film. I waited until December to write the script, and can you believe Jesus had me write it in literally two and a half days? Two and a half days!! For my fellow screenwriters out there, you know this can only be a miracle from Jesus!! After the script was written, I doubted my ability to shoot the film on such a tiny budget. It’s a big story, and I just didn’t think it could be done. But God kept at me, and finally, on December 20th, 2009, I accepted that His will was to answer my prayer, and that I would be shooting this movie on a micro budget in April, a month after I finish graduate school.

I am INSANELY excited at the experience that’s about to take place in my life. Jesus and I have done this twice before, first when I was 18 and God had me create The Christ Effect, a documentary about the struggle to be a Christian during college, and then again when I was 20 when God had me make Lamb of God, a feature length narrative film about Jesus coming to earth as a college student. I remember the adventure of making those two films, the miracles that God revealed to me by the doors He opened and the impossibles He turned into reality. My faith absolutely soared during those periods in my life, and I know it will soar again as we embark on this next filmmaking journey together.

So, over the next few months I’ll be using this blog to write everything and anything that we are doing to produce the feature film “Youth of Christ.”  It isn’t going to be easy, no movie making process is, but it’s going to be so much fun on so much faith!! To add a little flavor, I’ll also be uploading short videos onto Youtube of Jesus and us Godlywood filmmakers making this movie happen. Also, feel free to check out my company’s website at http://www.ceechrist.com for any company updates!!

By the grace of God, this film will hit theaters sometime in 2011, and I can’t wait to see how God uses it to uplift His church, to uplift His children, AND to uplift all of our faith! God bless you, and as always, God bless your ministry in our wonderful Lord Jesus Christ!!

From, Stephanie Rodnez, aka, Godlywood Girl

Leave a Reply

